Liberty Bell

Homespun Treasures, Gifts & Quilting Fabrics

Book a course

Below you will find our latest workshop programme for adult courses, and we are now also offering Busy Bees workshops – shorter courses specifically designed for children aged 8+ years. To book a course, please ring the shop on 01244 350058 or visit the store in person. If you would like to be among the first to be notified about new courses, please drop us an email asking to be added to the workshop mailing list.

Adult courses run from 10:30 until 16:30; Busy Bees children’s courses run from 11:00 until 15:00.
Tuition costs £20 for adult courses (unless specified otherwise in the table below) and £15 for Busy Bees children’s courses. This must be paid for in full at the time of booking to reserve your place. Course fees are only refundable if your place can be resold.
We also ask for a £10 deposit towards the cost of the course kit (for applicable courses) at the time of booking. This is deducted from the cost of the total kit on the day. Kit prices vary – please ask for details.
Please bring a basic sewing kit and a packed lunch. Tea/coffee/water will be provided.

Description of planned courses

Adult Courses
Description
Baa-Baa Knitting Bag and Needle Case
Make it easy to “knit on the go” with this sheep-themed needle case and drawstring project bag, complete with woolly sheep applique and external pockets for bits and bobs.
Harbour Bay Bag
Bring some seaside magic to your summer wardrobe with this beautiful coastal bag, featuring harbour-themed fabric and external patchwork pockets.
Ellie May Elephant
Wearing a charming dress made from antique floral fabric and a pinafore stuffed with flowers, Ellie May the soft grey elephant will add a touch of vintage elegance to your home.
Home Sweet Home Apron
This applique workshop will improve your machine technique and hand-embellishment skills to decorate a ready-made homespun apron with a scene of a house in a meadow.
Trip Around the World Lap Quilt (Tuition £54 total for 3 sessions)
Use a quick but effective technique to create a ‘bargello-style’ lap quilt in floral summer fabrics. Created over three sessions.
Busy Bees logo
Children’s Courses
Description
Bird on a Bobbin Pillow
During this session, the Busy Bees will get to grips with hand-applique techniques to make a small felt cushion featuring a bird on a bobbin and the word ‘SEW’.
Patchwork Tote Bag
For the more adventurous Busy Bees, this course will provide a solid introduction to basic patchwork skills and machine-sewing techniques to create a striking project tote bag.

Course schedule

Date
Course
Saturday 27 May
Baa-Baa Knitting Bag and Needle Case
Tuesday 30 May
Harbour Bay Bag
Thursday 1 June
Ellie May Elephant
Saturday 3 June
Block of the Month – Group A
Tuesday 6 June
Block of the Month – Group B
Thursday 8 June
Home Sweet Home Apron
Thursday 29 June
Block of the Month – Group C
Saturday 1 July
Block of the Month – Group D
Tuesday 4 July
Ellie May Elephant
Thursday 6 July
Baa-Baa Knitting Bag and Needle Case
Saturday 8 July
Block of the Month – Group A
Tuesday 11 July
Block of the Month – Group B
Thursday 13 July
Harbour Bay Bag
Saturday 15 July
Home Sweet Home Apron
Tuesday 18 July
Baa-Baa Knitting Bag and Needle Case
Thursday 20 July
Trip Around the World Lap Quilt (Session 1 of 3)
Saturday 22 July
Harbour Bay Bag
Tuesday 25 July
Small Bee Busy Bees (Bird on a Bobbin Pillow)
Thursday 27 July
Block of the Month – Group C
Saturday 29 July
Block of the Month – Group D
Saturday 5 August
Block of the Month – Group A
Thursday 10 August
Trip Around the World Lap Quilt (Session 2 of 3)
Saturday 12 August
Baa-Baa Knitting Bag and Needle Case
Tuesday 15 August
Small Bee Busy Bees (Bird on a Bobbin Pillow)
Thursday 17 August
Trip Around the World Lap Quilt (Session 3 of 3)
Tuesday 22 August
Block of the Month – Group B
Thursday 24 August
Block of the Month – Group C
Saturday 26 August
Ellie May Elephant
Thursday 29 August
Harbour Bay Bag
Thursday 31 August
Small Bee Busy Bees (Patchwork Tote Bag)
Saturday 2 September
Block of the Month – Group D

block-of-the-month-button 

Liberty Bell
MENU